The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation. Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships. 
The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year. 
Early Paul Harris Fellows received a certificate of recognition. In 1969, the Foundation unveiled the first Paul Harris Fellow medallion at the Rotary Convention in Honolulu, Hawaii, USA. Japanese metal artist Fiju Tsuda created the piece under the direction of former Foundation Trustee Kyozo Yuasa. Today, Paul Harris Fellows receive a certificate and pin.
Rotarians have a tradition of supporting the Foundation by honoring others. Ida LeTulle Taylor became a Paul Harris Fellow in 1978 when her husband, Vann Taylor, who was serving as a district governor, made a donation in her name in honor of their 34th wedding anniversary. The gift also made her the 25,000th Paul Harris Fellow. 
At the International Assembly in 1979, incoming RI President James Bomar challenged each Rotary club to make one non-Rotarian a Paul Harris Fellow. The Rotary Club of Pikesville, Maryland, USA, responded by making a donation in the name of Mother Teresa in 1980. The entertainer Pearl Bailey also became a Paul Harris Fellow through a joint effort of the Rotary clubs in Cape Cod, Massachusetts. 
Many other notable figures have been named Paul Harris Fellows, including U.S. President Jimmy Carter, Russian President Boris Yeltsin, U.S. astronaut James Lovell, UN Secretary-General Javier Perez de Cuellar, and polio vaccine developer Jonas Salk.
The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006.
Paul Harris Fellow Paul Harris Fellow recognition is given to anyone who contributes (or in whose name is contributed, using Foundation recognition points) a gift of $1,000 or more cumulatively to the Annual Fund, the PolioPlus Fund, or an approved global grant. Recognition consists of a certificate and pin. Order optional recognition items, including the Paul Harris Fellow medallion for $15 and a complimentary certificate cover, at Use the Club Recognition Summary to see your club’s Paul Harris Fellows.
Multiple Paul Harris Fellow Multiple Paul Harris Fellow recognition is given at subsequent $1,000 levels. Recognition consists of a pin set with additional stones corresponding to the recipient’s recognition amount.
Level Range*
Pin +1 $2,000 to $2,999 one sapphire
+2 $3,000 to $3,999 two sapphires
+3 $4,000 to $4,999 three sapphires
+4 $5,000 to $5,999 four sapphires
+5 $6,000 to $6,999 five sapphires
+6 $7,000 to $7,999 one ruby
+7 $8,000 to $8,999 two rubies
+8 $9,000 to $9,999 three rubies
*Range can consist of a combination of cash contributions and Foundation recognition points received.